Explain the composition of Rajya Sabha. Who can be elected as a member and for how long? Why is Rajya Sabha called a Permanent House?


The maximum strength of Rajya Sabha is 250. Out of these, 12 members are nominated by the President of India and the remaining 238 are elected from the States and Union Territories by the elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies. The 12 nominated members are distinguished personalities who excel in various fields of art, literature, science, social service, sports, etc.

To become a member of Rajya Sabha, a person must be a citizen of India and not less than 30 years of age. Her/His name must be in the voters’ list.

Rajya Sabha is called a Permanent House which can never be dissolved. After every two years, one-third of its members retire and elections are held to fill these seats.